Different Texas Licenses
The state of Texas offers many types of licenses. These special cases may be age, vehicle, or work dependent. Below is a list of some of these licenses along with the requirements and regulations.
The Instruction Permit
This non photo license is issued to student drivers so that they may legally practice when accompanied by a licensed driver. The licensed driver must be at least 21 years of age with one year of driving experience and must sit in the front seat beside the driver. By law, this supervising driver cannot be asleep, intoxicated, or engaging in any activity that distracts them from their active supervision.
This permit can be issued to a student driver aged 15 or above and the fee is $5.00.
The Graduated License
Implemented January 1, 2002, the graduated license is a two phase program. In phase one, drivers under 18 must hold an instruction permit or hardship license for a minimum of six months prior to application.
Once the GDL has been issued, the new driver is only allowed to drive was certain restrictions. During the next six months, the driver can only have one passenger in the car under the age of 21 who is not a member of the drivers family. Additionally, the driver cannot operate his vehicle between midnight and 5:00 AM unless the car is being used for a work or school related activity.